IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Scam
Spirit Shield
post Jun 24 2009, 09:20 AM
Post #1


Chocolate Cake
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: February 3, 2009
Member No.: 90,001
Posts: 529
Skin: ChristmasNow
From: It depends, I go in out in out shake it all about.
My Highscores: Z A R O S 6

R.S. Status: Freeplay
R.S. Clan: Depends D:



Somehow, some sites have been able to get the same name as a taken domain, but with a capital letter at the front of the adress. i urge you to use MyWot (http://www.mywot.com) or McAfee Site Advisor (www.siteadvisor.com) to check wether the site is a scam. thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cattius
post Jun 24 2009, 11:03 AM
Post #2


Willow Logs
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: April 7, 2008
Member No.: 60,877
Posts: 1,207
Skin: Darkness
From: Midlands, England
My Highscores: ICattius
R.S. Name: iCattius
R.S. Status: Member
R.S. Clan: Choc's classic Du Bist Turd.



Domain names are not case sensitive. This means that Mywot.com is the same as mywot.com.

However, I agree with your advice to use MyWOT or McAfee SiteAdvisor. With IE and Firefox you can use the add-ons, and with other browsers you can use the WOT bookmarklet. If you keep it on the bookmarks bar of your browser, you just need to click on it in order to see the site's WOT rating smile.gif


This post has been edited by Cattius: Jun 24 2009, 11:03 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spirit Shield
post Jun 24 2009, 11:43 AM
Post #3


Chocolate Cake
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: February 3, 2009
Member No.: 90,001
Posts: 529
Skin: ChristmasNow
From: It depends, I go in out in out shake it all about.
My Highscores: Z A R O S 6

R.S. Status: Freeplay
R.S. Clan: Depends D:



i know they are not case sensative but write in currys into google and you'll see one adress is red and on is green (green one is exactly the same adress as the red one but the red one has a capital letter at the start of the adress.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kwinten
post Jun 24 2009, 12:01 PM
Post #4


Torag the Corrupted
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: January 12, 2007
Member No.: 30,135
Posts: 4,142
Skin: IPB 2.2.0 Default
From: Belgium

R.S. Status: Retired



QUOTE (goth fairy @ Jun 24 2009, 06:43 PM) *
i know they are not case sensative but write in currys into google and you'll see one adress is red and on is green (green one is exactly the same adress as the red one but the red one has a capital letter at the start of the adress.

Um nope.

One is currys.com, another one is curry.com

That's no such thing as case sensitive URL's. Get it out of your head.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spirit Shield
post Jun 24 2009, 12:09 PM
Post #5


Chocolate Cake
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: February 3, 2009
Member No.: 90,001
Posts: 529
Skin: ChristmasNow
From: It depends, I go in out in out shake it all about.
My Highscores: Z A R O S 6

R.S. Status: Freeplay
R.S. Clan: Depends D:



you've just got super owned.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emo_Nemo
post Jun 24 2009, 12:22 PM
Post #6


Turoth
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: August 9, 2007
Member No.: 45,971
Posts: 1,882
Skin: IPB 2.2.0 Default
My Highscores: Monkeyfun14
R.S. Name: Monkeyfun14
R.S. Status: Member
R.S. Clan: Monkeyfun14



QUOTE (goth fairy @ Jun 24 2009, 01:09 PM) *
you've just got super owned.


Its impossible to register a domain thats the same as another one....

I'm not sure you understand how the DNS system works.

You type in a url and it is sent to a DNS server the server then redirects your browser to a ip address. If somehow there was 2 sites with the same domain name the DNS server would return back with a error.

Its more likely a glitch in the software.

And doesn't WOT change ratings on every individual page not just based on the main site? Meaning one part of the site can have a green warning while another be red.


This post has been edited by Emo_Nemo: Jun 24 2009, 12:23 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kwinten
post Jun 24 2009, 12:37 PM
Post #7


Torag the Corrupted
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: January 12, 2007
Member No.: 30,135
Posts: 4,142
Skin: IPB 2.2.0 Default
From: Belgium

R.S. Status: Retired



It's the same website you silly.

The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kaibamanjrs
post Jun 27 2009, 11:24 AM
Post #8


Saradomin Wizard
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: October 8, 2006
Member No.: 23,027
Posts: 3,440
Skin: RuneScape Black

R.S. Status: Inactive



QUOTE (Kwinten @ Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM) *
It's the same website you silly.

The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter.

The software doesn't check if a website is safe or not. I believe it checks based upon webPAGEs. Those lead to two different PAGES
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cattius
post Jun 27 2009, 12:26 PM
Post #9


Willow Logs
Group Icon

Group: Forum Member
Joined: April 7, 2008
Member No.: 60,877
Posts: 1,207
Skin: Darkness
From: Midlands, England
My Highscores: ICattius
R.S. Name: iCattius
R.S. Status: Member
R.S. Clan: Choc's classic Du Bist Turd.



QUOTE (Kaibamanjrs @ Jun 27 2009, 04:24 PM) *
QUOTE (Kwinten @ Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM) *
It's the same website you silly.

The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter.

The software doesn't check if a website is safe or not. I believe it checks based upon webPAGEs. Those lead to two different PAGES

I think you used the wrong quote. Kwinten was trying to explain that goth fairy was wrong, I think you should have quoted goth fairy instead slanty.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post



[ Report an Advertisement ]
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 05:39 PM