![]() ![]() |
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 09:20 AM
Post
#1
|
|
|
Chocolate Cake ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: February 3, 2009 Member No.: 90,001 Posts: 529 Skin: ChristmasNow From: It depends, I go in out in out shake it all about. My Highscores: Z A R O S 6 R.S. Status: Freeplay R.S. Clan: Depends D: |
Somehow, some sites have been able to get the same name as a taken domain, but with a capital letter at the front of the adress. i urge you to use MyWot (http://www.mywot.com) or McAfee Site Advisor (www.siteadvisor.com) to check wether the site is a scam. thank you.
|
|
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 11:03 AM
Post
#2
|
|
|
Willow Logs ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: April 7, 2008 Member No.: 60,877 Posts: 1,207 Skin: Darkness From: Midlands, England My Highscores: ICattius R.S. Name: iCattius R.S. Status: Member R.S. Clan: Choc's classic Du Bist Turd. |
Domain names are not case sensitive. This means that Mywot.com is the same as mywot.com.
However, I agree with your advice to use MyWOT or McAfee SiteAdvisor. With IE and Firefox you can use the add-ons, and with other browsers you can use the WOT bookmarklet. If you keep it on the bookmarks bar of your browser, you just need to click on it in order to see the site's WOT rating This post has been edited by Cattius: Jun 24 2009, 11:03 AM |
|
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 11:43 AM
Post
#3
|
|
|
Chocolate Cake ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: February 3, 2009 Member No.: 90,001 Posts: 529 Skin: ChristmasNow From: It depends, I go in out in out shake it all about. My Highscores: Z A R O S 6 R.S. Status: Freeplay R.S. Clan: Depends D: |
i know they are not case sensative but write in currys into google and you'll see one adress is red and on is green (green one is exactly the same adress as the red one but the red one has a capital letter at the start of the adress.
|
|
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 12:01 PM
Post
#4
|
|
|
Torag the Corrupted ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: January 12, 2007 Member No.: 30,135 Posts: 4,142 Skin: IPB 2.2.0 Default From: Belgium R.S. Status: Retired |
i know they are not case sensative but write in currys into google and you'll see one adress is red and on is green (green one is exactly the same adress as the red one but the red one has a capital letter at the start of the adress. Um nope. One is currys.com, another one is curry.com That's no such thing as case sensitive URL's. Get it out of your head. |
|
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 12:09 PM
Post
#5
|
|
|
Chocolate Cake ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: February 3, 2009 Member No.: 90,001 Posts: 529 Skin: ChristmasNow From: It depends, I go in out in out shake it all about. My Highscores: Z A R O S 6 R.S. Status: Freeplay R.S. Clan: Depends D: |
you've just got super owned.
|
|
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 12:22 PM
Post
#6
|
|
|
Turoth ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: August 9, 2007 Member No.: 45,971 Posts: 1,883 Skin: IPB 2.2.0 Default My Highscores: Monkeyfun14 R.S. Name: Monkeyfun14 R.S. Status: Member R.S. Clan: Monkeyfun14 |
you've just got super owned. ![]() Its impossible to register a domain thats the same as another one.... I'm not sure you understand how the DNS system works. You type in a url and it is sent to a DNS server the server then redirects your browser to a ip address. If somehow there was 2 sites with the same domain name the DNS server would return back with a error. Its more likely a glitch in the software. And doesn't WOT change ratings on every individual page not just based on the main site? Meaning one part of the site can have a green warning while another be red. This post has been edited by Emo_Nemo: Jun 24 2009, 12:23 PM |
|
|
|
Jun 24 2009, 12:37 PM
Post
#7
|
|
|
Torag the Corrupted ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: January 12, 2007 Member No.: 30,135 Posts: 4,142 Skin: IPB 2.2.0 Default From: Belgium R.S. Status: Retired |
It's the same website you silly.
The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter. |
|
|
|
Jun 27 2009, 11:24 AM
Post
#8
|
|
|
Saradomin Wizard ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: October 8, 2006 Member No.: 23,027 Posts: 3,440 Skin: RuneScape Black R.S. Status: Inactive |
It's the same website you silly. The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter. The software doesn't check if a website is safe or not. I believe it checks based upon webPAGEs. Those lead to two different PAGES |
|
|
|
Jun 27 2009, 12:26 PM
Post
#9
|
|
|
Willow Logs ![]() Group: Forum Member Joined: April 7, 2008 Member No.: 60,877 Posts: 1,207 Skin: Darkness From: Midlands, England My Highscores: ICattius R.S. Name: iCattius R.S. Status: Member R.S. Clan: Choc's classic Du Bist Turd. |
It's the same website you silly. The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter. The software doesn't check if a website is safe or not. I believe it checks based upon webPAGEs. Those lead to two different PAGES I think you used the wrong quote. Kwinten was trying to explain that goth fairy was wrong, I think you should have quoted goth fairy instead |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 10:03 PM |