Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Scam
Sal's RuneScape Forum > Everything... Not RuneScape > Tech Talk > Tech Discussion
Spirit Shield
Somehow, some sites have been able to get the same name as a taken domain, but with a capital letter at the front of the adress. i urge you to use MyWot (http://www.mywot.com) or McAfee Site Advisor (www.siteadvisor.com) to check wether the site is a scam. thank you.
Cattius
Domain names are not case sensitive. This means that Mywot.com is the same as mywot.com.

However, I agree with your advice to use MyWOT or McAfee SiteAdvisor. With IE and Firefox you can use the add-ons, and with other browsers you can use the WOT bookmarklet. If you keep it on the bookmarks bar of your browser, you just need to click on it in order to see the site's WOT rating smile.gif
Spirit Shield
i know they are not case sensative but write in currys into google and you'll see one adress is red and on is green (green one is exactly the same adress as the red one but the red one has a capital letter at the start of the adress.
Kwinten
QUOTE (goth fairy @ Jun 24 2009, 06:43 PM) *
i know they are not case sensative but write in currys into google and you'll see one adress is red and on is green (green one is exactly the same adress as the red one but the red one has a capital letter at the start of the adress.

Um nope.

One is currys.com, another one is curry.com

That's no such thing as case sensitive URL's. Get it out of your head.
Spirit Shield
you've just got super owned.
Emo_Nemo
QUOTE (goth fairy @ Jun 24 2009, 01:09 PM) *
you've just got super owned.


Its impossible to register a domain thats the same as another one....

I'm not sure you understand how the DNS system works.

You type in a url and it is sent to a DNS server the server then redirects your browser to a ip address. If somehow there was 2 sites with the same domain name the DNS server would return back with a error.

Its more likely a glitch in the software.

And doesn't WOT change ratings on every individual page not just based on the main site? Meaning one part of the site can have a green warning while another be red.
Kwinten
It's the same website you silly.

The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter.
Kaibamanjrs
QUOTE (Kwinten @ Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM) *
It's the same website you silly.

The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter.

The software doesn't check if a website is safe or not. I believe it checks based upon webPAGEs. Those lead to two different PAGES
Cattius
QUOTE (Kaibamanjrs @ Jun 27 2009, 04:24 PM) *
QUOTE (Kwinten @ Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM) *
It's the same website you silly.

The first result is an advert, that Google allowed them to customize so it shows as a capital letter.

The software doesn't check if a website is safe or not. I believe it checks based upon webPAGEs. Those lead to two different PAGES

I think you used the wrong quote. Kwinten was trying to explain that goth fairy was wrong, I think you should have quoted goth fairy instead slanty.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.