IPB Elegia Style© Fisana

Jump to content


The Developer Console


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Tabt

Tabt

    All glory to the HypnoTabt!

  • Forum Member
  • 4,023 posts
  • Joined 05 February 2008
  • Skin: Elegia
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:The kitchen
  • R.S. Name: Tabt
  • R.S. Status: Inactive

Posted 17 September 2010 - 11:08 AM

Anyone opened it up and got thoroughly confused? What does it do?

Free Hugs | SalCast | Bloggyness


Posted Image


Grat ~ Goggie | ¡Ay, Tabt! ¡Mi amiga favorita! ~ ElSamsara | <3  ~ Morte


Posted Image


#2 OFFLINE   Cxkslei

Cxkslei

    Void Knight

  • Forum Member
  • 8,962 posts
  • Joined 03 November 2005
  • Skin: Elegia
  • R.S. Status: Freeplayer

Posted 17 September 2010 - 11:30 AM

Mind giving me a link?

I have no idea what you're talking about.

#3 OFFLINE   djpailo

djpailo

    Nechryael

  • Forum Member
  • 3,746 posts
  • Joined 04 November 2005
  • Skin: Elegia
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • R.S. Status: Inactive

Posted 17 September 2010 - 12:34 PM

No idea either. It also appeared when I logged out too. I think its to help with the technical support forums so a Jmod can ask players to check for details more easily.

View PostCxkslei, on Sep 17 2010, 05:30 PM, said:

Mind giving me a link?

I have no idea what you're talking about.

Press the accent key whilst playing and type help etc.
http://runescape.wik...veloper_console

Edited by djpailo, 17 September 2010 - 12:36 PM.

Posted Image Posted Image

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character - Martin Luther King, Jr.: "I Have a Dream"

If it's wrong to be violent defending black women and black children and black babies and black men, then it's wrong for America to draft us and make us violent abroad in defense of her. And if it is right for America to draft us, and teach us how to be violent in defense of her, then it is right for you and me to do whatever is necessary to defend our own people right here in this country. - Malcolm X: "Message To The Grass Roots"

From where the sun now stands I will fight no more forever Chief Joseph -Thunder...the Loftier Mountain Heights -1877

| DJpailo's Massive Security Guide | My website | My Artwork | Official Forum Highscores Topic | Official Forum Highscores |

#4 OFFLINE   Cxkslei

Cxkslei

    Void Knight

  • Forum Member
  • 8,962 posts
  • Joined 03 November 2005
  • Skin: Elegia
  • R.S. Status: Freeplayer

Posted 17 September 2010 - 12:45 PM

So it's only purpose is to allow for Jagex to find technical problems more fluently. I hardly see how it's confusing, seems the same as command prompt to me. :huh:.

#5 OFFLINE   Pureosaur

Pureosaur

    Willow Logs

  • Forum Member
  • 1,232 posts
  • Joined 15 March 2010
  • Skin: Elegia

Posted 17 September 2010 - 12:46 PM

I opened it and i was clueless about what i'm supposed to type in it.

Posted Image


#6 OFFLINE   Cxkslei

Cxkslei

    Void Knight

  • Forum Member
  • 8,962 posts
  • Joined 03 November 2005
  • Skin: Elegia
  • R.S. Status: Freeplayer

Posted 17 September 2010 - 12:55 PM

View PostPureosaur, on Sep 17 2010, 01:46 PM, said:

I opened it and i was clueless about what i'm supposed to type in it.
You don't need to type anything in it:

Posted Image

Type in DisplayFPS and you can see FPS at the top right, to toggle it off type DisplayFPS again.

Posted Image

Renderer prints some information

Posted Image

Heap displays the Heap.

CLS - Clears the developer console screen.

What's confusing? I mean it's not like you're trying to do anything with it :huh:. Especially nothing like this:
title Generic (Generic.asm)
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
;The purpose of this program is to confuse a forum.						;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

.model small;Establishes the maximum size of space allowed.

.stack 100h;Allocates 256 (decimal), or 100 (hexadecimal) for use.

.data
message1 db "Can you understand this?", 0dh, 0ah, '$'

.code
main proc
mov ax, @data	;Establishes the data segment
mov ds,ax	

mov ah,9	;Print procedure is called
mov dx, offset message1;address of first string to print
int 21h		;execute interrupt 21

main endp

END main
:unsure:

Edited by Cxkslei, 17 September 2010 - 01:01 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   dexter

dexter

    Man

  • Forum Member
  • 36 posts
  • Joined 18 September 2010
  • Skin: Elegia

Posted 19 September 2010 - 12:39 AM

Seems like it's just for troubleshooting graphics issues for now, which is a bit of a disappointment. Perhaps they're waiting 'till next month to add in the item duplicate command :huh:

#8 OFFLINE   Tabt

Tabt

    All glory to the HypnoTabt!

  • Forum Member
  • 4,023 posts
  • Joined 05 February 2008
  • Skin: Elegia
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:The kitchen
  • R.S. Name: Tabt
  • R.S. Status: Inactive

Posted 20 September 2010 - 01:13 AM

Whats confusing? The fact that I'm not as technologically minded as some of you people and when I misclicked shift this popped up and looked a bit scary at me.

I'm learning though.

Free Hugs | SalCast | Bloggyness


Posted Image


Grat ~ Goggie | ¡Ay, Tabt! ¡Mi amiga favorita! ~ ElSamsara | <3  ~ Morte


Posted Image


#9 OFFLINE   Keegan

Keegan

    River Troll

  • Forum Member
  • 1,092 posts
  • Joined 06 August 2009
  • Skin: Elegia
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • R.S. Name: Ford Dent
  • R.S. Status: Member

Posted 20 September 2010 - 07:24 AM

I opened it and couldn't figure out how I opened it. I had to log out.
Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   Tabt

Tabt

    All glory to the HypnoTabt!

  • Forum Member
  • 4,023 posts
  • Joined 05 February 2008
  • Skin: Elegia
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:The kitchen
  • R.S. Name: Tabt
  • R.S. Status: Inactive

Posted 20 September 2010 - 09:07 AM

View PostKeegan, on Sep 20 2010, 12:24 PM, said:

I opened it and couldn't figure out how I opened it. I had to log out.
Yeah, I didn't know what was going on so I just pressed random buttons until it went away whilst people laughed at me :huh:

Free Hugs | SalCast | Bloggyness


Posted Image


Grat ~ Goggie | ¡Ay, Tabt! ¡Mi amiga favorita! ~ ElSamsara | <3  ~ Morte


Posted Image


#11 OFFLINE   SatansFate

SatansFate

    Shaikahan

  • Forum Member
  • 2,155 posts
  • Joined 04 May 2009
  • Skin: Delicate
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind you
  • R.S. Status: Retired

Posted 20 September 2010 - 09:54 AM

It's the ` key, just below ESC.
It allows you to access debug info, such as frames per second, FPS, and Java information.
Type "help" into it for a full list of commands.

#12 OFFLINE   Chance

Chance

    Gnome Child

  • New Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 18 September 2010
  • Skin: Elegia
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas, United States
  • R.S. Name: Rich Miner
  • R.S. Status: Member

Posted 22 September 2010 - 09:37 PM

I like to keep the FPS showing while I play. No reason why, I just like having it there. There isn't much that can be done with the Dev Console.
I do not have a main. This skiller is my only account.
Posted Image

Your signature was oversized in terms of width and filesize. Please ensure that it remains below the 500px width limit and 60kb filesize limit. If you're not sure how to find the width or filesize of your signature, click [here].

#13 OFFLINE   Xtrafishy

Xtrafishy

    Newbie Forumer

  • New Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19 August 2010
  • Skin: Elegia

Posted 01 October 2010 - 04:38 PM

View PostTabt, on Sep 17 2010, 11:08 AM, said:

Anyone opened it up and got thoroughly confused? What does it do?
I only know that you can open it up with the [~] key ,and that you can type in it. :huh: You didn't hear this from me...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users