IPB Elegia Style© Fisana

Jump to content


System time problem


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 15 March 2012 - 11:37 AM

For some reason, every time I turn on my computer the system time is 0:00. It then increases by the minute, but to fix it, I have to synchronize the system time with time.windows.com.
However, when I turn my computer on again it's back to 0:00.

Does anyone know what's wrong here and how to fix it?

Posted Image


#2 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:10 PM

The battery on your mother board is dead. I forget the specific type but it's just a cell battery that you can get for five bucks.

Posted Image


#3 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:17 PM

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 06:10 PM, said:

The battery on your mother board is dead. I forget the specific type but it's just a cell battery that you can get for five bucks.
it it easy enough to change?

Posted Image


#4 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 15 March 2012 - 08:04 PM

View PostGnomercy, on 15 March 2012 - 06:17 PM, said:

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 06:10 PM, said:

The battery on your mother board is dead. I forget the specific type but it's just a cell battery that you can get for five bucks.
it it easy enough to change?



Yep, just push a button to pop it out and then put the new one in. Takes thirty seconds. Google "cmos battery" to get an idea.

Posted Image


#5 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:23 AM

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 08:04 PM, said:

View PostGnomercy, on 15 March 2012 - 06:17 PM, said:

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 06:10 PM, said:

The battery on your mother board is dead. I forget the specific type but it's just a cell battery that you can get for five bucks.
it it easy enough to change?


Yep, just push a button to pop it out and then put the new one in. Takes thirty seconds. Google "cmos battery" to get an idea.
Ok thanks very much! You've been so helpful to me! :P


EDIT: One problem. The battery is located behind the RAM. Does that mean I have to unplug the computer, take out the RAM, replace the battery and put in the RAM again?

Edited by Gnomercy, 16 March 2012 - 11:40 AM.

Posted Image


#6 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:35 PM

View PostGnomercy, on 16 March 2012 - 11:23 AM, said:

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 08:04 PM, said:

View PostGnomercy, on 15 March 2012 - 06:17 PM, said:

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 06:10 PM, said:

The battery on your mother board is dead. I forget the specific type but it's just a cell battery that you can get for five bucks.
it it easy enough to change?


Yep, just push a button to pop it out and then put the new one in. Takes thirty seconds. Google "cmos battery" to get an idea.
Ok thanks very much! You've been so helpful to me! :P


EDIT: One problem. The battery is located behind the RAM. Does that mean I have to unplug the computer, take out the RAM, replace the battery and put in the RAM again?
Behind the ram? I don't think you can fit the battery behind it seeing as it's the size of a quarter. Usually it's closer to the cpu.

Posted Image


#7 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 16 March 2012 - 01:17 PM

View Postredmonke, on 16 March 2012 - 12:35 PM, said:

View PostGnomercy, on 16 March 2012 - 11:23 AM, said:

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 08:04 PM, said:

View PostGnomercy, on 15 March 2012 - 06:17 PM, said:

View Postredmonke, on 15 March 2012 - 06:10 PM, said:

The battery on your mother board is dead. I forget the specific type but it's just a cell battery that you can get for five bucks.
it it easy enough to change?


Yep, just push a button to pop it out and then put the new one in. Takes thirty seconds. Google "cmos battery" to get an idea.
Ok thanks very much! You've been so helpful to me! :P


EDIT: One problem. The battery is located behind the RAM. Does that mean I have to unplug the computer, take out the RAM, replace the battery and put in the RAM again?
Behind the ram? I don't think you can fit the battery behind it seeing as it's the size of a quarter. Usually it's closer to the cpu.
Well it's behind something and I can't get at it! What do I do?

Posted Image


#8 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 16 March 2012 - 05:18 PM

If something is in the way, take that out. :P

Posted Image


#9 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 16 March 2012 - 06:35 PM

OK, hopefully I don't break anything!

Posted Image


#10 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 17 March 2012 - 09:30 AM

Sorry for the double post, but it's important.

The battery is located behind the graphics card. I unscrewed it and repeatedly pulled, but I couldn't get it completely out. Any suggestions?

Posted Image


#11 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 17 March 2012 - 10:10 AM

View PostGnomercy, on 17 March 2012 - 09:30 AM, said:

Sorry for the double post, but it's important.

The battery is located behind the graphics card. I unscrewed it and repeatedly pulled, but I couldn't get it completely out. Any suggestions?
Can you post a picture? Preferably of that one spot and the whole mother board.

Posted Image


#12 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 17 March 2012 - 01:01 PM

Posted Image

Posted Image

Hope that helps.

Posted Image


#13 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 17 March 2012 - 05:20 PM

www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/images/Products/large/GF8100VM_M5_580.jpg

Bottom left corner on that picture.

Edited by redmonke, 17 March 2012 - 05:25 PM.

Posted Image


#14 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 17 March 2012 - 05:48 PM

View Postredmonke, on 17 March 2012 - 05:20 PM, said:


Yeah, but the problem is my graphics card is plugged into that long orange slot, and so goes over the battery, and I can't get the graphics card out.
I've tried pressing the white bit to release it, but nothing happens.

Posted Image


#15 OFFLINE   Crackity Jones

Crackity Jones

    Cookie I think you're tame.

  • Distinguished Member
  • 19,982 posts
  • Joined 14 December 2006
  • Skin: Deviant

Posted 17 March 2012 - 06:11 PM

You press the button to release the lock, unscrew from the back of your computer if you need to, then just pull it out.

If you need more help, google or youtube "how to remove a graphics card"

Edited by redmonke, 17 March 2012 - 06:12 PM.

Posted Image


#16 OFFLINE   Gnomercy

Gnomercy

    Crawling Hand

  • Forum Member
  • 186 posts
  • Joined 07 December 2011
  • Skin: Deviant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • R.S. Name: Gnom3rcy
  • R.S. Status: Retired
  • Clan: Sal's Realm

Posted 17 March 2012 - 06:28 PM

View Postredmonke, on 17 March 2012 - 06:11 PM, said:

You press the button to release the lock, unscrew from the back of your computer if you need to, then just pull it out.

If you need more help, google or youtube "how to remove a graphics card"

I can't press the button down. Most of the white bit is under the graphics card.
And I have unscrewed it, but it still won't release the lock.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users