Sal's RuneScape Forum
reepicheep

Bans imposed on nuclear weaponry

In a bid to revive the debate room, and in light of more nuclear tests in North Korea, here's the question;

Should the US (or really any country with a similar nuclear arsenal), as a country with the largest or second-largest nuclear arsenal, be allowed to actually ban (or at least frown upon) other countries (from) making them?

Debate away!

Edited by reepicheep

Well, as long as they're Communist / a threat to us / a threat to Israel, I don't see any problem with not letting them have nuclear bombs.

Otherwise, let them go about their business.

Well, as long as they're Communist / a threat to us / a threat to Israel, I don't see any problem with not letting them have nuclear bombs.

>implying only communists are evil

>implying only we and israel are worth protecting

I'm not an expert on this subject, but I can't imagine a whole ban coming any time soon. It would be great if it were possible to have nuclear weapons completely banned, but it's simply an issue of trust. If nation A bans nation B from having nuclear weapons, nation B will think that nation A is just trying to get an advantage by making their own nuclear weapons and attacking the defenseless nation B. Things will work the same exact way vice versa. So no, nuclear weapons are not good, but we'll have to wait a while before safely establishing a ban on them.

I agree with very little of what you say, but even for you that.. that was parodic, right? Right?

Edited by Mano

But why should we decide whether they get to have nuclear bombs? Why should we have any power over them?